Tag Archives: cmmc certification cost

The Basics of the CMMC

Before CMMC launches in January, it is likely not implemented in June, giving companies plenty of time to prepare their security programs and take action to update them. There will also be times for third party accreditation certification to come under attack by organizations that need an assessment. What components of the framework will these parties evaluate?


Like the Cyber Essentials model, CMMC will have progressive grade certification. Not two, CMMC has five, with the first tier requiring only basic cyber hygiene. You can also look for the best cmmc consultants in Washington.

Image Source: Google

This level is cumulative, so level five must demonstrate good cyber cleanliness, meet NIST requirements, have a comprehensive and active cybersecurity program, and have optimization capabilities to prevent advanced persistent threats.


These levels also embrace key concepts of maturity. Although there are no maturity requirements for the first level, from the second level onwards it is expected that a cybersecurity policy will be created and maintained within the company.


CMMC is much more specific than Cyber Essentials and Essential Eight. It has 17 domains, most of which are drawn from Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) and NIST. This domain includes various cybersecurity requirements. They aim not only to prevent malware, but also to limit damage from breaches, as well as to back up and restore data.

The domains for the final project are:

  • Access control
  • Asset management
  • Auditing and reporting
  • Awareness and training
  • Configuration management
  • Identification and authentication
  • Incident response
  • support
  • Media protection